South Carolina Becomes 42nd US State to Issue Stay-at-Home Orders

Joining 41 other state leaders, the governor of South Carolina on Monday ordered his state’s residents to stay at home unless they have “essential” business to attend to.

Governor Henry McMaster’s order, which went into effect Monday, makes exceptions only for residents “visiting family, exercising or obtaining essential goods or services,” according to the South Carolina Emergency Management Division.

McMaster’s declaration came after state health officials on Monday confirmed 2,232 coronavirus cases and 48 deaths. Remaining states that have not issued stay-at-home orders include Arkansas, Iowa, Nebraska, Oklahoma, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.